The Council is made up of 12 members. The categories of membership are provided for in law as follows: 


Judicial members

  • the Lord Justice Clerk (Chair)
  • one first instance High Court judge
  • one sheriff
  • two persons holding the office of summary sheriff or justice of the peace
  • one further eligible judicial member or a sheriff principal

Legal members

  •          one prosecutor
  •          one advocate 
  •          one solicitor

Lay members

  •          one constable
  •          one person with knowledge of victims' issues
  •          one other person who is not qualified as a judicial or legal member.

Current members